Cosmedico 10K100®

Cosmedico 10K100®

The new Cosmedico 10K100® is a particularly special tanning lamp. It is the premium upgrade for your sunbed par excellence and brings the best out of your appliance. No other tanning lamp can deliver such convincing tanning results.  

Find out more

FAQ

Frequently asked questions — We’ve got the answers!

The list of frequently asked questions offers you answers to all your questions on the topic of tanning lamps and UV product technology:

What is the role of the UV lamps in a sunbed?
The lamp is the “heart” of a sunbed as it plays a fundamental role in defining the emitted spectrum and the generated irradiance and as such is responsible for the delivered effects. In the end, the lamp is the key element in the whole business of a tanning salon.
What is the difference between high pressure and low pressure lamps?

Low pressure lamps already generate a defined spectrum, i.e., additional filtering is not required, which is why they offer a better energy balance.

High pressure lamps produce a spectrum which must be filtered as they emit short-wave UV-C and UV-B rays as well as visible and infrared light. Due to the additional filtering required, the energy balance is considerably poorer in comparison with low pressure lamps. Unlike low pressure lamps, high pressure lamps can generate high irradiances over small surfaces.

Why do we sometimes talk about tubes and sometimes about lamps?

In everyday life, people often don’t use the correct terms. The lamp is often referred to as a “bulb” because it is bulb-shaped. Fluorescent lamps are tubular and so are often incorrectly called “tubes”. Although admittedly, fluorescent lamps for general lighting also used to be called “neon tubes”.

What is the difference between short and long electrodes?

The two electrode designs are only differentiated between for the high output lamps (140, 160, 180 and 225W).

The short electrode is also known as a short mount and represents the standard technology. In comparison with general lighting lamps, tanning lamps of the same electrical capacity absorb more power and thereby generate a higher irradiance. At Cosmedico high output lamps can be recognised by their designation “HO” (high output). For high output lamps with a short electrode, compliance with the optimal operating temperature by means of correctly designed cooling is especially important as they otherwise generate a considerably lower irradiance.

The long electrode is also called a long mount. Lamps with this technology have a cooling zone at both ends and consequently the operating temperature has considerably less influence on the level of irradiance achieved. In contrast to high output lamps with short electrodes, they require less power at the same electrical capacity, but generally produce higher irradiance. At Cosmedico they are designated as “VHO” (very high output).

What should I take into account when choosing a tanning lamp?

The requirements on commercially used sunbeds — and hence the regulations for replacing the lamps — are specified by national laws and/or harmonized standards. In the member states of the European Union, the erythemal irradiance must not exceed 0.3 W/m². The same maximum value also applies in some additional European countries, whereas in other countries — including outside of Europe — an erythemal irradiance of up to 0.7 W/m² is permitted.

In case of doubt, please enquire at the responsible authority or contact the experts at Cosmedico. To our experts

In addition to compliance with legal regulations, the effect of the lamp also plays an important role in the selection process.

If you prefer a lamp which tans quickly (i.e. high efficiency for pigment darkening and immediate tanning), you should ensure that the effect of the lamp is primarily delivered by its UV-A share (e.g. perceivable from the Y value < 2 of the UV code).

If, on the other hand, you are looking for a lamp that stimulates pigment synthesis, leads to a permanent tan and is oriented towards healthcare, then you should predominantly use lamps with a higher UV-B share (e.g. perceivable from the Y value > 3 of the UV code).

The datasheets of the Cosmedico lamps generally supply all the important technical and radiometric information as well as the lamp specification. To the products

What is equivalence?

Taken literally, equivalence means being the same. In UV fluorescent lamps, equivalence regulates exchangeability when lamps are replaced.

A replacement lamp is equivalent to the original lamp if it has the same lamp output (in Watts), the same optical properties (without reflector or reflector type) and a comparable UV code. The permitted tolerance for the UV code is up to minus 25% for the X value and ± 15% for the Y value. That means that replacement lamps must never have a higher erythemal efficiency.

What do UVB percentages mean?

The ratio of the UV-B emission to the UV-A emission, i.e., the quotient from the irradiances in UV-B and that in UV-A.

Example 1:
A lamp generates 20 W/m² in UV-A and 180 mW/cm² in UV-B (= 0,18 W/m²) [Calculation: 0,18 : 20 = 0,009 x 100 = 0,9 %]

The UV-B percentage is a relative size and thus only says little about the efficacy of a lamp. The significance of the UV-B percentage is considerably overrated as criterion of the lamp quality.

Example 2:
A lamp generates 22 W/m2 in UV-A and 180 mW/cm2 in UV-B (=0.18 W/m2) [Calculation: 0,18 : 22 = 0,0082 x 100 = 0,82 %]

A second lamp generates 20 W/m2 in UV-A and 170 mW/cm2 in UV-B (=0.17 W/m2) [Calculation: 0,17 : 20 = 0,0085 x 100 = 0,85 %]

Although the UV-A and UV-B values are both lower, the second lamp still has the higher UV-B percentage.

How can I maximise the service life of a lamp?

By maintaining optimum thermal conditions during lamp operation. This also includes, for example, regularly changing the filter mats in the sunbed and servicing the exhaust fan.

How do you measure the UV irradiance of a tanning lamp?

For precise measurement of the UV irradiance a spectral radiometer with double monochromator is required. In this process, the generated irradiance is “broken down” and the irradiance determined per nanometre.

There are also so-called UV broadband radiometers, which boast a specific measuring sensitivity across the entire UV range. However, the measuring accuracy and uncertainty is much greater here and as such measurements of this type are usually only viewed as indicative.

What is the difference between open and closed glass?

Including special additives when melting the glass can shift the filter edge of the glass to higher wavelengths, i.e., the transmission for UV-B rays in particular becomes lower. Then we talk about “closed” glass. Whereas in “open” glass the filter edge is more in the short wavelength range and a higher percentage of UV-B rays are transmitted. Whichever is the case, the quantity of UV-B rays is always restricted.

What is RoHS?

The European Parliament DIRECTIVE 2011/65/EU of 8th June 2011 regulates the restriction of the use of certain hazardous substances in electrical and electronic appliances. It is also known as RoHS (Restriction of hazardous substances). Although UV fluorescent lamps include mercury and often also lead in the glass bulbs, they are exempted from the directive as there are not currently any alternative products available which do not include the named substances.

What needs to be taken into account when disposing of tanning lamps?

Due to the hazardous ingredients, primarily mercury, the lamps must be recycled professionally and not disposed of as domestic waste.

What needs to be taken into account if a lamp shatters?

Ventilate the room immediately and ideally wear respiratory protection when cleaning. Sweep up all the small parts carefully and use sellotape to pick up any remnants. Place all the shards and remnants in a sealable container for disposal. The use of a vacuum cleaner is not recommendable as this would then distribute the mercury throughout the room via its exhaust.

What is a 0.3 W/m2 lamp capable of?

If different sunbeds are fitted with the same type of lamp, the irradiances generated by the appliance can vary significantly, as the number and arrangement of the lamps, the properties of the acrylic glass panes and the reflectors as well as the operating conditions can be very different.

Consequently, it is not generally possible to say with absolute certainty that any conventional type of lamp complies with the maximum erythemal irradiance of 0.3 W/m2.

It is only possible to make a vague assessment using the specified UV code in the equivalence key according to which lamps with an X value of < 30 often remain below 0.3 W/m2 for the irradiance in the sunbed.

However, there is no guarantee, as lamps with X = 25 can often already exceed the permitted maximum value and some with X = 35 can still comply with it in isolated cases. For this reason, it is not possible to make finite statements and instead every lamp should be selected based on the advice of a specialist. The Cosmedico expert team will be happy to advise you. To the Cosmedico employee site

What if a lamp turns black?

With increasing operating time, discolouration (blackening) may occur around the electrodes. This is technically unavoidable. The electrode coil is coated with emitter paste, which facilitates ignition. At each ignition, some of the paste evaporates and with time this forms ring-shaped discolouration deposits inside the bulb. These blackenings are purely cosmetic and have no influence on the UV output.

By the way: So-called spaghetti lamps may discolour quicker at the lamp ends as, for reasons of space, it is not possible to mount the protective ring around the electrodes which is intended to catch the emitter paste.

In addition to the “normal”, ring-shaped blackenings, some irregularly formed, partially speckled, very dark patches may occur after a relatively short period of operation. This is usually a sign that the electrode is overloaded and there is a risk that the lamp will fail early.

Why might a lamp not ignite?

There can be several reasons why a lamp doesn’t ignite.

a. The lamp is defective. Even long after the production, lamps may no longer be airtight occassionally, i.e., air is entering the lamp through a leak, which collapses the vacuum.

b. The starter is defective and doesn’t heat the electrodes or does so only insufficiently, whereby the voltage impulse for igniting the lamp is not sufficient.

c. The available mains voltage is too close to the reclosing voltage of the starter, which often results in a so-called “disco effect” (the lamps flicker on and off) and inevitably worsens the discolouration (see point 15).

A tip: If the lamp does not ignite, try it again at another place in the device. Lamps and their operating material have manufacturing tolerances which may be so incompatible that the lamp does not ignite. It is unlikely that another place in the sunbed has a similar constellation.

What is the role of the starter?

The starter closes the circuit for a specific period of time in order to preheat the electrodes. Then it interrupts the preheating and triggers ignition. In principle, it is now possible to remove the starter without the lamp’s going out (extinguishing).

The starter ages too! As the number of switching cycles increases, so does the risk that the starter “sticks” and interrupts the preheating process. In these cases, overloading of the electrodes and early lamp failures are bound to happen (see point 14). For this reason, exchange not only the lamps, but also the starters regularly. For the “classic” starters, this should be the case no later than every other lamp replacement.

Why can you not operate a high pressure lamp without a filter screen?

High pressure lamps emit a very broad spectrum, stretching from short-wave UV-C right up to the long-wave infrared range. However, only the UV-A rays and a small percentage of the UV-B rays are required for tanning purposes, which is why the wavelengths which are generated but not required need to be filtered out. If high pressure lamps are used without a filter screen, the very short-wave rays can cause an acute inflammation reaction in the eyes (electro-ophthalmia) and on the skin. In addition, it is more than reasonable to filter out the visible rays (e.g., with a blue filter screen) in order to avoid dazzling or at least to reduce it.

Why is it important that the lamps are well cooled?

Due to the function of fluorescent lamps, they only generate their maximum possible irradiance capacity under optimal operating conditions. Both, too low operating temperatures (too much cooling) and especially too high temperatures (insufficient cooling) affect their output. In addition, professional operating conditions help achieving the longest possible useful service life.

What happens as lamps get older?

The aging process of fluorescent lamps mainly affects the luminescent material (also known as phosphor) and to a lesser extent the glass. The aging of the luminescent material is evident in reduced output, whereas the aging of the glass results in the absorption of more short-wave rays. Both effects result in an increasingly reduced efficiency the longer the period of use. The aging absolutely does not make the lamp more dangerous, just less effective.

Storing the lamps on the other hand does not have any negative effect on the lamp quality. Even in years of storage as long as this is done properly.

Regine Theuerkauf

We'll be happy to advise you!

Regine Theuerkauf

Vertriebsassistenz

0049-711-54004-36

free consulting

Gratis

Request free of charge by post or e-mail now!

0,3 W/m2

Jetzt Umrüsten

Ihre Sonnenbänke sind noch nicht 0,3 – Fit? Wie Sie einfach und schnell Ihre Bestandsgeräte gesetzeskonform auf 0,3 W/m² umrüsten erfahren Sie hier.

mehr erfahren

FAQ

Häufig gestellte Fragen - Wir geben Antworten!

In der Liste der häufig gestellten Fragen finden Sie Antworten zu allen Fragen zum Thema Bräunungslampen und UV-Produkttechnologie:

Welche Rolle spielt die UV-Lampe in einer Sonnenbank?
Die Lampe ist das „Herzstück“ eines Solariums, da sie im wesentlichen Ausmaß das abgegebene Spektrum sowie die erzeugte Bestrahlungsstärke bestimmt und somit für die vermittelten Wirkungen verantwortlich ist. Letztendlich ist die Lampe das Kernelement im gesamten Geschäft eines Sonnenstudios.
Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Hochdruck- und Niederdrucklampen?

Niederdrucklampen erzeugen bereits ein zielgerichtetes Spektrum, d.h. eine zusätzliche Strahlenfilterung ist nicht erforderlich, weshalb sie eine bessere Energiebilanz aufweisen.

Hochdrucklampen produzieren ein Spektrum, das unbedingt gefiltert werden muss, da sowohl kurzwellige UVC- und UVB- als auch sichtbare und Infrarote Strahlung abgegeben wird. Durch die erforderliche Filterung fällt die Energiebilanz im Vergleich zur Niederdrucklampe deutlich schlechter aus. Anders als mit Niederdrucklampen lassen sich mit Hochdrucklampen hohe Bestrahlungsstärken auf kleinen Flächen erzeugen.

Warum spricht man einmal von Röhren und eine andermal von Lampen?

Umgangssprachlich werden häufig nicht ganz korrekte Bezeichnungen verwendet. Die Glühlampe wird oftmals als „Birne“ bezeichnet, weil sie birnenförmig ist. Leuchtstofflampen sind röhrenförmig und werden daher oft fälschlicherweise Röhre genannt. Allerdings wurden früher Leuchtstofflampen für die Allgemeinbeleuchtung auch „Neonröhren“ genannt.

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen kurzer und langer Elektrode?

Nur bei Hochlastlampen (140, 160, 180 und 225W) ist zwischen beiden Elektrodendesigns (-bauarten) zu unterscheiden.

Die kurze Elektrode wird auch als Short Mount (kurzer Lampenfuß) bezeichnet und repräsentiert die Standardtechnologie. Im Vergleich zu Beleuchtungslampen nehmen Besonnungslampen gleicher elektrischer Leistung mehr Strom auf und erzeugen dadurch eine höhere Strahlungsleistung. Bei Cosmedico sind sie an der Bezeichnung „HO“ (High Output) zu erkennen. Bei Hochlastlampen mit kurzer Elektrode ist die Einhaltung der optimalen Betriebstemperatur durch korrekt ausgelegte Kühlung besonders wichtig, da sie ansonsten eine deutlich geringere Bestrahlungsstärke erzeugen.

Die lange Elektrode wird auch Long Mount (langer Lampenfuß) genannt. Lampen dieser Technologie weisen an beiden Enden eine Kühlzone auf, wodurch die Betriebstemperatur weitaus weniger Einfluss auf die Höhe der erzielten Strahlungsleistung hat. Im Vergleich zu Hochlastlampen mit kurzer Elektrode benötigen sie weniger Strom bei gleicher elektrischer Leistung, produzieren aber zumeist eine höhere Bestrahlungsstärke. Bei Cosmedico sind sie mit der Bezeichnung „VHO“ (Very High Output) gekennzeichnet.

Wonach sollte ich eine UV Lampe auswählen?

Nach der der UV-Schutz-Verordnung (UVSV) dürfen gewerblich genutzte Solarien in Deutschland seit dem 1. August 2012 die erythemwirksame Bestrahlungsstärke von 0,3 W/m² nicht übersteigen.

Falls Sie bereits ein Solarium besitzen, das den zulässigen Höchstwert der erythemwirksamen Bestrahlungsstärke einhält, können Sie jede äquivalente Lampe als Ersatz auswählen (vgl. auch Frage: Was ist Äquivalenz?).

Soweit Sie nicht sicher sind, ob Ihr Solarium den Höchstwert nicht überschreitet, sollten Sie sich zur Sicherstellung der Einhaltung der wirksamen Bestrahlungsstärke mit einem Spezialisten abstimmen. Die Cosmedico-Mitarbeiter beraten Sie gerne.

Neben der Einhaltung gesetzlicher Vorschriften spielt natürlich auch die Wirkung der Lampe bei der Auswahl eine Rolle.

Wenn Sie eine Lampe bevorzugen, die rasch bräunt (d.h. hohe Wirksamkeit für die Pigmentdunkelung bzw. Sofortbräunung), sollten Sie darauf achten, dass die Lampenwirkung überwiegend durch den UVA-Anteil erfolgt (z.B. erkennbar durch den Y-Wert < 2 des UV-Codes).

Erwarten Sie hingegen von der Lampe, dass sie mehr die Pigmentbildung anregt und zu einer dauerhaften Bräunung führt sowie auch mehr im Sinne der Gesundheitspflege wirkt, dann sollte sie überwiegend über ihren UVB-Anteil wirken (z.B. erkennbar durch den Y-Wert > 3 des UV-Code).

Die Datenblätter der Cosmedico Lampen liefern im Regelfall alle wesentlichen technischen und strahlungsphysikalischen Angaben sowie die Lampenspezifikation. Zum Download (Sie müssen eingeloggt sein, um die PDF-Dateien herunterladen zu können)

Was ist Äquivalenz?

Äquivalenz im engeren Sinne bedeutet Gleichwertigkeit. Bei UV-Leuchtstofflampen ist die Austauschbarkeit beim Lampenersatz über die Äquivalenz geregelt

Eine Ersatzlampe ist zur Originallampe dann äquivalent, wenn sie die gleiche Lampenleistung (in Watt), gleiche optische Eigenschaften (ohne Reflektor bzw. Reflektortyp) und einen vergleichbaren UV-Code aufweist. Die erlaubte Toleranz beim UV-Code beträgt im X-Wert bis zu minus 25% und im Y-Wert ± 15%. Das bedeutet, dass die Ersatzlampe keinesfalls eine höhere Erythemwirksamkeit aufweisen darf.

Was bedeuten UVB-Prozentsätze?

Das Verhältnis des Anteils an UVB-Strahlung zur UVA-Strahlung, d.h. der Quotient aus den Bestrahlungsstärken im UVB und der im UVA.

Beispiel 1: Eine Lampe erzeugt im UVA 20 W/m² und im UVB 180 mW/cm² (= 0,18 W/m²) [Rechnung: 0,18 : 20 = 0,009 x 100 = 0,9 %]

Der UVB-Prozentsatz ist eine relative Größe und sagt daher nur wenig über Wirksamkeit einer Lampe aus. Die Bedeutung des UVB-Prozentsatzes wird als Indiz (Kennzeichen) der Lampenqualität deutlich überschätzt.

Beispiel 2: Eine Lampe erzeugt im UVA 22 W/m² und im UVB 180 mW/cm² (= 0,18 W/m²) [Rechnung: 0,18 : 22 = 0,0082 x 100 = 0,82 %]

Eine zweite Lampe erzeugt im UVA 20 W/m² und im UVB 170 mW/cm² (= 0,17 W/m²) [Rechnung: 0,17 : 20 = 0,0085 x 100 = 0,85 %]

Obwohl sowohl der UVA- als auch UVB-Wert niedriger ausfallen, ergibt die zweite Lampe einen höheren UVB-Prozentsatz.

Wie kann ich die Lebensdauer einer Lampe maximieren?

Durch Einhaltung der optimalen thermischen Bedingungen beim Lampenbetrieb. Hierzu gehören beispielsweise auch regelmäßiges Wechseln der Filtermatten in der Sonnenbank und Wartung der Abluftanlage

Wie kann die UV-Bestrahlungsstärke einer Besonnungslampe gemessen werden?

Zur exakten Messung der UV-Bestrahlungsstärke wird ein Spektralradiometer mit Doppelmonochromator benötigt. Hierbei wird die erzeugte Strahlung „zerlegt“ und die Bestrahlungsstärke jeweils pro Nanometer bestimmt.

Es gibt auch sogenannte UV-Breitbandradiometer, die über den gesamten UV-Bereich eine bestimmte (Mess-)Empfindlichkeit aufweisen. Hierbei ist jedoch die Messungenauigkeit und –unsicherheit sehr viel größer, sodass derartige Messungen zumeist nur orientierenden Charakter aufweisen.

Wie unterscheidet sich offenes und geschlossenes Glas?

Durch spezielle Zusätze in die Glasschmelze kann die Filterkante des Glases zu höheren Wellenlängen verschoben werden, d.h. die Transmission (Durchlässigkeit) für insbesondere UVB-Strahlung wird geringer. Man spricht dann vom „geschlossenen“ Glas. Bei „offenem“ Glas liegt die Filterkante mehr im kurzwelligen Bereich und es wird ein höherer Anteil von UVB-Strahlung durchgelassen. In jedem Fall ist die Menge an UVB-Strahlung immer begrenzt.

Was ist RoHS?

Die RICHTLINIE 2011/65/EU, des europäischen Parlaments vom 8. Juni 2011, regelt die Beschränkung der Verwendung bestimmter gefährlicher Stoffe in Elektro- und Elektronikgeräten. Auch RoHS genannt (Restriction of (the use of certain) hazardous substances). Obwohl UV-Leuchtstofflampen Quecksilber und zumeist auch Blei im Kolbenglas enthalten, sind sie von der Richtlinie ausgenommen, da derzeit alternative Produkte ohne die genannten Substanzen nicht zur Verfügung stehen.

Was ist bei der Entsorgung von UV-Lampen zu berücksichtigen?

Auf Grund der gefährlichen Inhaltsstoffe in erster Linie Quecksilber, müssen die Lampen einem Recyclingkreislauf zugeführt werden und dürfen nicht mit dem Hausmüll entsorgt werden.

Was ist zu beachten, wenn ein Lampe zerbricht?

Sofort den Raum belüften und idealerweise einen Atemschutz zur Reinigung verwenden. Alle Kleinteile sorgfältig aufkehren und ggf. Reste mit Klebeband aufnehmen. Alle Splitter und Reste in einem verschließbaren Gefäß der Entsorgung zuführen. Die Verwendung eines Staubsaugers ist nicht zu empfehlen, da dieser bei weiterer Verwendung das Quecksilber mit der Abluft im Raum verteilen würde.

Wann ist eine Lampe 0,3 W/m² fähig?

Wenn man verschiedene Solarien mit dem gleichen Lampentyp bestückt, sind die von den Geräten erzeugten Bestrahlungsstärken sehr verschieden, da die Anzahl und Anordnung der Lampen, die Eigenschaften der Acrylglasscheiben und Reflektoren sowie die Betriebsbedingungen sehr unterschiedlich ausfallen können. Daher kann man von keinem üblichen Lampentyp grundsätzlich und mit letzter Sicherheit sagen, dass der zulässige Höchstwert der erythemwirksamen Bestrahlungsstärke von 0,3 W/m² eingehalten wird. Es ist lediglich eine grobe Abschätzung anhand des spezifizierten UV-Codes im Äquivalenzschlüssel möglich, wonach Lampen mit einem X-Wert < 30 häufig im Solarium unterhalb von 0,3 W/m² für die wirksame Bestrahlungsstärke bleiben. Allerdings ist das keinesfalls eine Garantie, da Lampen mit X = 25 durchaus den erlaubten Höchstwert bereits übersteigen können, während solche mit X = 35 ihn in Einzelfällen gerade noch einhalten. Pauschale Aussage sind deshalb leider nicht möglich, stattdessen sollte die Lampenauswahl gemeinsam mit einem Spezialisten erfolgen. Die Cosmedico Mitarbeiter beraten Sie gerne. Zur Cosmedico Mitarbeiter-Seite

Was ist, wenn eine Lampe schwarz wird?

Mit zunehmender Betriebsdauer können sich im Elektrodenbereich der Lampen Vergrauungen (Abschwärzungen) bilden, die technisch bedingt unvermeidlich sind. Auf der Elektrodenwendel befindet sich sogenannte Emitterpaste, die den Zündvorgang erleichtert. Bei jeder Zündung verdampft etwas von der Paste und schlägt sich mit der Zeit als ringförmige Abschwärzung auf der Innenseite des Lampenkolbens nieder. Diese Vergrauungen sind nur kosmetischer Natur und haben keinen Einfluss auf die UV-Leistung.

Übrigens: Sogenannte Spaghetti-Lampen vergrauen eventuell schneller an den Lampenenden, da aus Platzgründen der Schutzring um die Elektroden, der die verdampfte Emitterpaste „auffangen“ soll, nicht angebracht werden kann.

Neben den „normalen“ ringförmigen Vergrauungen können auch unregelmäßig geformte, teilweise fleckige sehr dunkle Abschwärzungen schon nach relativ kurzer Betriebsdauer auftreten. Dann liegt in der Regel eine Überlastung der Elektrode vor und es besteht die Gefahr, dass die Lampe frühzeitig ausfällt.

Woran liegt es, wenn eine Lampe nicht zündet?

Es kann verschiedene Ursachen haben, dass eine Lampe nicht zündet.

a. Die Lampe ist defekt. Auch längere Zeit nach der Herstellung können in Einzelfällen Luftzieher auftreten, d.h. durch die undichte Stelle dringt Luft ins Lampeninnere, wodurch das Vakuum abgebaut wird.

b. Der Starter ist defekt und heizt die Elektroden nicht oder nur unzureichend auf, wodurch die Spannungsimpuls zur Zündung der Lampe nicht ausreicht.

c. Die vorliegende Netzspannung liegt zu nahe bei der Wiederschließspannung des Starters, was auch häufig zum sog. „Disco-Effekt“ führt (die Lampen befinden sich im An-Aus-Rhythmus), was zwangsläufig die Abschwärzungen verstärkt (siehe Punkt 15)

Ein Tipp: Falls die Lampe nicht zündet, versuchen Sie es erneut an einer anderen Stelle des Gerätes. Lampen und deren Betriebsmittel weisen Fertigungstoleranzen auf, die sich zueinander so ungünstig verhalten können, dass die Lampe nicht zündet. Es ist unwahrscheinlich, dass an anderer Stelle des Solariums eine ähnliche Konstellation vorliegt.

Welche Rolle spielt der Starter?

Der Starter schließt einen Stromkreis für eine definierte Dauer, um die Elektroden vorzuheizen. Danach unterbricht der Starter das Vorheizen und löst die Zündung aus. Im Prinzip könnte man nun den Starter entfernen, ohne dass die Lampe ausgeht (erlischt).

Auch der Starter altert! Mit zunehmender Anzahl von Schaltzyklen wächst die Gefahr, dass der Starter „kleben“ bleibt und den Vorheizprozess unterbricht. In solchen Fällen sind Überlastungen der Elektroden und vorzeitiger Lampenausfall (siehe Punkt 14) vorprogrammiert. Daher nicht nur die Lampen, sondern auch die Starter regelmäßig austauschen. Bei den „klassischen“ Glühstartern sollte das spätestens bei jedem zweiten Lampenwechsel erfolgen.

Warum darf man eine Hochdrucklampe nicht ohne Filterscheibe betreiben?

Hochdrucklampen geben ein sehr breites Spektrum ab, das vom kurzwelligen UVC bis hin in den langwelligen infraroten Bereich reicht. Für Bräunungszwecke wird jedoch nur die UVA-Strahlung und ein kleinerer Anteil an UVB-Strahlung benötigt, weshalb die erzeugten, aber nicht benötigten Strahlenbereiche herausgefiltert werden. Falls Hochdrucklampen ohne geeignete Filterscheibe verwendet werden, kommt es infolge der sehr kurzwelligen Strahlung innerhalb von Sekunden zu akuten Entzündungsreaktionen in den Augen („Verblitzung“) und der Haut. Darüber hinaus ist es mehr als sinnvoll auch die sichtbare Strahlung herauszufiltern (z.B. mit blauen Filterscheiben), um die starke Blendung zu vermeiden oder zumindest zu reduzieren.

Warum ist es so wichtig, dass Lampen gut gekühlt werden?

Aufgrund der Arbeitscharakteristik von Leuchtstofflampen erzeugen sie nur bei optimalen Betriebbedingungen ihre maximal mögliche Strahlungsleistung. Sowohl zu geringe Betriebstemperatur (zu starke Kühlung) als auch insbesondere zu hohe Betriebstemperatur (unzureichende Kühlung) geht zu Lasten der Strahlungsleistung. Zudem helfen sachgerechte Betriebsbedingungen beim Erreichen der längst möglichen Nutzlebensdauer.

Was passiert, wenn Lampen älter werden?

Der Alterungsprozess bei Leuchtstoffstofflampen betrifft in erster Linie den Leuchtstoff (auch Phosphor genannt) und im untergeordneten Maß das Kolbenglas. Die Alterung des Leuchtstoffs macht sich in einer geringeren Strahlungsleistung bemerkbar, während die Alterung des Glases dazu führt, dass mehr kurzwellige Strahlung absorbiert wird. Beide Effekte resultieren in einer zunehmend geringeren Wirksamkeit mit längerer Einsatzdauer. Keinesfalls wird die Lampe durch die Alterung gefährlicher, sondern verliert immer an Wirkung.

Die alleinige Lagerung von Lampen führt hingegen zu keiner Beeinträchtigung der Lampenqualität, selbst bei jahrelanger Lagerung soweit diese sachgerecht erfolgt.

Regine Theuerkauf

Wir beraten Sie gerne!

Regine Theuerkauf

Vertriebsassistenz

0049-711-54004-36

kostenlose Beratung

Gratis

Jetzt gratis per Post oder per E-mail anfordern!